Responsive Webdesign

Today websites cannot afford to not work correctly on mobile devices! We know how it works and will be happy to advise you.

Responsive Webdesign

Responsive web design is able to adapt to its environment (monitor resolution). So-called “liquid designs”, which work with percentages rather than fixed numbers of pixels, have already been available for some considerable time. Most websites are adapted to certain resolutions. Whereas a few years ago the standard was 800 x 600 pixels, resolutions today have reached 1024 x 748 or higher. Nowadays, such a way of working is of limited usefulness. If you follow the IT news, it will be obvious to you (as of the beginning of 2013) that mobile devices have long since overtaken the PC market. There are now countless end devices available, and it is simply no longer possible to work with a defined pixel width. Look around any public place and observe how many people are using their smart phones. This is a market that will continue to grow, and your website will need to work perfectly on mobile end devices. You can no longer afford for this not to be the case.

We like to work on the basis of the »mobile first« approach.

In simple terms, today’s designs mostly use a monitor resolution of 1024 x 768 pixels for laptops and desktop computers. By way of contrast, smart phones have an availability of only 320 x 480 pixels – approximately 80% less. This means that there is no room for unnecessary features and bells and whistles, thus concentrating the mind on what the essential content is and how such content can be accommodated. It is also particularly important to bear in mind that the mobile view of a website is not a “light version”. Do not deny any contents to visitors accessing your site via a smart phone. A conscious decision to do away with unnecessary content will also make the desktop version of your website tidier and more user friendly. One positive side-effect here will be that the site will take less time to load, something which has the potential to improve your placement in search engines.

We have been focusing on web design since as long ago as 1998, meaning that we have seen practically every development come and go.  We work with modern technologies such as Compass und Sass. We have embraced HTML5 and CSS3 and set great store by clean programming. This is something which is absolutely essential for responsive web design in particular.

We no longer support older web browsers such as Internet Explorer 6/7. We believe that it makes more sense to make websites compatible for mobile devices.

Responsive Webdesign

Keine Webseite darf es sich heute erlauben auf mobilen Geräten nicht einwandfrei zu funktionieren! Wir wissen wie es geht und beraten Sie gerne.

Responsive Webdesign

Zu deutsch “reagierendes” Webdesign also ein Design das sich seiner “Umgebung” (der Monitorauflösung) anpassen kann. Es gibt schon länger die so genannten “Liquid Designs”. Hier wird nicht mit festen Pixeln gearbeitet sondern mit Prozentangaben. Die meisten Webseiten werden an bestimmte Auflösungen angepasst. Vor ein paar Jahren war die Standart Auflösung von 800x600 Pixel heute sind es 1024x748 oder höher. Diese Arbeitsweise macht heutzutage nur noch wenig Sinn - wenn Sie aufmerksam die IT news (stand Anfang 2013) verfolgen ist klar, das die mobilen Geräte den PC Markt längst überholt haben. Es gibt mittlerweile unzählige Endgeräte auf dem Markt und es ist einfach nicht mehr möglich mit einer bestimmte Pixel Breite zu arbeiten. Schauen Sie einfach mal auf einen öffentlichen Platz um sich wie viele Menschen Ihr Smartphone benutzen. Dieser Markt wird stetig weiter wachsen und Sie können es sich nicht mehr erlauben, dass Ihre  Webseite auf mobilen Endgeräten nicht tadellos funktioniert. 

Wir arbeiten gerne mit dem »mobile First« Ansatz. 

Kurz erklärt: es wird heute meist für eine Monitorauflösung 1024x768 Pixeln für Laptops und Desktopcomputer gestaltet. Smartphones hingegen haben 320x480 Pixeln zur Verfügung das sind ca. 80% weniger. Also kein Platz für unnötiges und Schnick Schnack. Dies zwingt zum Nachdenken was die wesentlichen Inhalte sind und wie diese Untergebracht werden können. Besonders wichtig ist hierbei auch zu bedenken, dass die Mobile Ansicht einer Webseite keine »light Version« ist. Enthalten Sie Ihren Besuchern mit dem Smartphone keine Inhalte vor. Der bewusste Verzicht auf unnötige Inhalte wird auch Ihre Desktop Version der Webseite aufgeräumter und benutzerfreundlicher machen. Ein erfreulicher Nebeneffekt werden auch kürzere Ladezeiten sein, was wiederum Ihre Platzierung bei Suchmaschinen verbessern kann. 

Wir beschäftigen uns bereits seit 1998 mit Webdesign - haben also so ziemlich die ganze Entwicklung mitbekommen.  Wir arbeiten mit modernen Technologien wie Compass und Sass. Setzen auf html5 und css3 und legen hohen Wert auf saubere Programmierung was gerade für responsives webdesign unabdingbar ist.

Alte Webbrowser wie Internet Explorer 6/7 werden von uns nicht mehr unterstützt, da wir es für sinnvoller erachten Webseiten für mobile Geräte kompatibel zu machen.